Sign in with
Your question

Need opinions on this build for 1,000$

Last response: in Systems
February 5, 2012 12:16:42 PM

I am making a PC build from these parts, and I was wondering if these were good enough for good fps on any game, I'm making a gaming computer. I would also like opinions and suggestions on different things, it will help me out a lot since this is my first time building. Here's the parts :) 

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

DVD Drive:

Hard Drive:

Video Card:

Power Supply:

RAM:

MotherBoard:

CPU:

More about : opinions build 000

February 5, 2012 12:32:47 PM

Looks pretty good as long as you don't plan on overclocking (if you do want to overclock, go with the 2500k over the 2500).

The 6950 2GB is a good card - you should get pretty good FPS in most games at most resolutions. What games/res are you looking at?
m
l
Related resources
February 5, 2012 12:33:23 PM

dish_moose said:
Get an i5-2500K and a 212 evo cooler.
-Bruce

No reason to get the K and an aftermarket cooler if he's not OCing.
m
l
February 5, 2012 12:37:12 PM

^ correct but... To go this far and not spend a small amount more for substantial performance gains would be ....
-Bruce
m
l
February 5, 2012 12:38:02 PM

inanition02 said:
Looks pretty good as long as you don't plan on overclocking (if you do want to overclock, go with the 2500k over the 2500).

The 6950 2GB is a good card - you should get pretty good FPS in most games at most resolutions. What games/res are you looking at?

I'm going to be playing games like SKyrim, Battlefield 3, not very graphics inducing games other than those, but I alwase like a good video card :) 
m
l
February 5, 2012 12:38:12 PM

I also don't plan on overclocking, since I have no idea how to do it :p 
m
l
February 5, 2012 12:41:32 PM

We will help you easily get to 4.3Ghz... Wanna learn?
-Bruce
m
l
February 5, 2012 12:43:37 PM

Sure, I would love to, just so you know this is my first build.
m
l