Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time prospective builder with numerous questions.

Last response: in Systems
February 6, 2012 1:20:41 AM

Hello there, this is my first time using the tomshardware forums (well, posting that is). I am looking to build a new computer, yet I have little experience in the matter. I've owned several units over the years, but felt ripped off. I could use some input on a range of topics concerning pc building. My room mate thinks it's as simple as ordering the parts, yet he's never built one himself. I want to make one for myself. If 700.00 is the cost of a decent gaming rig capable of handling most tasks count me in.

What parts should I get?
As far as I know people are getting parts that are mid tier due to bang for the buck. I don't want to spend an enormous amount of money for something that will be obsolete in six months anyways.

Where should I buy them?
I haven't bought computer parts since 2007 from newegg. Not sure how the market has changed and who holds the best deals currently. Where do you find the best deals? Tigerdirect, amazon, some other entity I'm unware of? Too many choices, but at least they're fighting for our dollars.

The parts I'm specifically interested in are as follows, please give some suggestions if you know of items more cost effective for performance.

CHASIS: To be honest, I don't particularly care what it looks like aside from maybe having a clear panel on the side so the parts are easy to view. I hear some chasis allow for better power supply wiring, thus increasing airflow (something like wiring behind motherboard mounted area between two panels).