CPU temperature reaches 68-70*C

Tenshi24

Honorable
May 13, 2012
Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160 @ 1.80GHz [OC to 2.35GHz] -- 1.32v [stock]
Stock Cooler
ASUS P5KL-AM/PS Motherboard

Hi, I'm extremely new to overclocking CPUs.

My mobo has this overclock profiles, i chose [overclock to 30%], just to be safe 'coz i don't want to mess my system up and i don't hav a replacement cpu. plus, the elders here will get mad at me if i mess the pc up. :na:

at 30mins ORTHOS stress test + net browsing [firefox], i get 70*C max, it plays around 65-70..
is it ok to leave it like this? because its overclocked, i think. thnks in adv. :D

Solution
A Coolermaster CM212 Hyper 212+ or Evo would be the recommendation.
They can usually be found for around $25-30 for the Hyper and $35 for the evo.
Should be equivalent in price in the Philippines.

Both are very, very good for their price and performance and highly recommended. You can even move them into your new i7 build when it comes!

wavetrex

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
E2160 should easily reach 3Ghz, even on a stock cooler! (not the low profile one, but one of the larger Pentium D8xx ones)

If you can only manage 2.35 and it gets that hot it means you have serious problem with your cooling system ( unventilated case, bad CPU cooler, improperly seated (aka, doesn't press/touch the CPU with the right force), etc. )

Stay off overclocking until discovering why your CPU is so hot.

Tenshi24

Honorable
May 13, 2012
Update: I reseated my heatsink, applied some cheap Thermal Compound (costs around $2.25, 3 grams. AS5 is not available here in our place, I'm in the Philippines btw.). Lowered the clock settings to 2.22GHz, 245:9. Still using stock voltages too. Used CoreTemp [Tj max @ 95 C] to monitor temperature. Heat lowered a bit, at least 63-65 at full load using ORTHOS. Idle temperatures are at 46-49 C. Room temperatures are at 33-35 C [The Philippines is damn hot]. :fou: