Sign in with
Your question

Problem with graphics card I think?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 7, 2011 6:37:02 PM

Ok, I have a older system I built years ago, but it still runs good so I havent upgraded yet.

Recently I started playing some computer games again (all low game settings) and I went from getting 125fps to as low as 40fps, and it was very laggy and choppy (not an internet problem for sure). I would exit the game, then go back in about 10 minutes later, and sure enough 5-10 min into the game, it started getting really choppy. I opened the case, made sure the fan was running, and touched the top of the card where the chipset would be on the other side, and it was very hot. I couldnt keep my finger there long.

I took the card out (which is a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro), and took off the heatsink and fan. I cleaned up the chip, cleaned the heatsink, and put some arctic silver on. Everything put back together, I tried running the game again. No problems for two days, and I even played enough for it to get hot. Today, I played again. It went back to the same problem as before. I opened the case back up, and the surface on the other side of the chipset was very hot.

I ran antivirus, and no issues. BTW, the game I was playing was the same game that Ive played on and off for years (with the same setup) and I have never ever had an issue.

Any ideas? Thanks!

More about : problem graphics card

a b U Graphics card
December 7, 2011 7:15:31 PM

It really does sound like you are having a heat issue and something is downclocking. Have you checked the temperatures you are getting when it starts getting bad frame rates?
m
l
December 8, 2011 2:23:42 AM

No I dont know how to check a graphics card temp without a external thermometer which I dont have. All I know it that it was hot enough to not keep my finger there.