Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Please recommend a GPU for WoW on a 300w PSU?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 7, 2011 11:32:35 PM

I am looking for a new video card to play WoW on ultra settings with 1680X1050 resolution. I'd also like to be able to play some of the more recent video games (Skyrim, Portal 2, etc) at decent settings. Here are my specs:

Dell Inspiron 580, Intel Core i3-550 (4mb cache, 3.2 ghz)
6gb DDR3 SDRAM

I am a newb when it comes to this stuff. I read that my dell model has a 300w PSU. I've been reading that some video cards recommend 400+w, but that they will run on a 300w. I have read this for cards like the Radeon HD 5670 and the HD 6670. I've scanned previous posts, and there are conflicting reports about using these cards with a 300w (some say no problem b/c the card doesn't approach 300w, others say you have to upgrade the PSU).

Can anyone confirm/deny that these cards will run on my system, and if either would suit my needs? Also, is there a better card that might also work on my system?

And I would rather not upgrade the PSU since I'm a light gamer and I don't want to invest too much into this venture. I will upgrade it though if that's my only option.

Thanks
December 7, 2011 11:56:41 PM

Hi,

It is definitely recommended that you not plan what hardware you can run with a given PSU. You should go the other way around, in reality.

Here is a good PSU calculator: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

A great PSU will be $40-$80, depending where you go & how patient you are. It is important to remember that you need to consider the power on the 12v rail.

Some PSU's:
http://www.svc.com/ocz700gxssli-b.html
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=E...
Score
December 7, 2011 11:57:52 PM

a 9500gt

an 8600gs

Score
Related resources
a c 107 U Graphics card
December 8, 2011 12:00:04 AM