Looking to upgrade my laptop

fantasticfrank

Honorable
May 23, 2012
Hello,

Well I know I can't replace the video card on my Dell Inspiron 1545 which is kind of disappointing because this laptop has worked great for me.

Don't really play too many PC games, but I plan on getting Guild Wars 2. I checked the specs on my PC and compared them to the system requirements. Everything checked out except my video card of course. So I'm on the fence on whether to get a new laptop to use for "gaming" or if I should build a PC. Granted, I've never built a PC before, so I don't know where to start besides buying parts, and I'm pretty good with taking things apart/putting them together. I think this could be a good project for me, but since I've never done it before I'm a little skeptical. Does anyone think it's worth it for me to try or would I be getting myself in over my head? And if I had to buy a good laptop without spending over $1000, what would be recommended? Thanks in advanced

Solution
some hints - make sure your cpu and gpu is balanced - dont' cheap out on either especially if your making a gaming build - especially not the gpu. Next, your PSU and motherboard are very important as you want to pick the PSU that can handle your needs according to your case and motherboard. You need a motherboard that hits the sweet spot between features and price - for example if you want SLi/crossfireX, go with at least a two slot PCI-E X16 lanes in it. You need to make sure your motherboard is compatible with the cpu you pick! Also important is to not to pick Biostar because their support is in name only and they are a much smaller company than ASUS, GIGABYTE and the like. I'm also suggesting you pick a case with cable management as...
for gaming--build a pc

quite honestly its not that difficult

as long as you make sure all the parts are compatible its pretty straight forward if you are even slightly good at practical things