Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Recommended upgrades on budget rig?

Last response: in Systems
February 7, 2012 6:54:46 PM

Go easy on me. I'm a computer building noob. This site has come up in so many of my searches and helped educate me a lot. I decided to join for more detailed advice on my particular situation.

Current system:
ECS MCP61M-M3 (V7.1) (Cheap AM3 micro ATX with a max TDP of 95w)
Phenom X6 1045t @2.7Ghz stock clock
8GB Patriot "sector 5" ram running at 1066 with 7 CAS timings.
OCZ vertex II 60GB SSD
500GB WD 7200 RPM HDD.
Galaxy GTX 560 (not a Ti)
Corsair TX750
Windows 7 64-bit

I don't game much(just started playing Skyrim), but I do play with HD rendering often.

I just got a bonus from work and I'm considering using a little of it (300 or less?) to upgrade my computer. The problem is all the options I can think of seem to offer minimal performance returns.

The most cost-effective performance upgrade I can think of would be a motherboard upgrade and an OC. But I have never OC's anything and the 1045 has a locked multiplier so I'm not sure it would be worth the hassle.

An OC would cut render times, and a nice SLI-ready MB with 4 memory slots would give me room to grow down the road, but I'm not sure how much I'm willing to trade between CPU lifespan and shortened render times. (my last over-the-counter computer lasted >8 years)

Any suggestions? From where I am, how much of a performance improvement can I get for that small amount of money and is it worth it?
a b B Homebuilt system
February 7, 2012 7:08:43 PM

Look at a decent AM3+ mobo 970 with a 1090T, hit up 8GB(2x4) of Corsairs Vengeance RAM, should be good to go.

You can try selling off your CPU/MOBO/RAM to raise a bit extra.
February 7, 2012 7:21:49 PM

sarinaide said:
Look at a decent AM3+ mobo 970 with a 1090T, hit up 8GB(2x4) of Corsairs Vengeance RAM, should be good to go.

You can try selling off your CPU/MOBO/RAM to raise a bit extra.