Can anyone see anything wrong with my 2012 buget gaming build, if so please educ

kevynova

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2012
Hey guys, i'm building a gaming pc and want to make sure ive got the right materials for the job. I dont have any specific games im playing but they are pretty high end games. i video edit, and also record music. i'm not a complete newb with gaming builds but i haven't build a gamer for nearly 1.5 yeah so... i would like some feed back on the specs i have picked please, just for piece of mind. i am planning on OverClocking to around about 4Ghz+. my buget is around about $1,000. Also im am going to duel crossfire the gtx 560's in a later date. any bang for buck help would be appreciated.

Intel Core i5 2500K $225.00
Asus GeForce GTX 560 1GB DirectCU $195.00
Seagate Barracuda 500GB ST500DM002 $79.00
Chenbro XPIDER II Case $49.00
Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler $95.00
ASUS P8Z68-V LX Motherboard $129.00
G.Skill Ripjaws Z F3-12800CL9Q-16GBZL (4x4GB) DDR3 $115.00
Antec High Current Gamer 750W Power Supply HCG-750 $139.00
Sub-total: $1,026.00

singemagique

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2009
Everything looks like it will work well together. If you really do a lot of video editing, however, I personally would want more than 500GB. In general, I can't in good conscience suggest even a budget build without a small SSD for OS and application launching. I'm not sure what country you are in, but if you can order from newegg you can easily save ~$75-100USD on the prices you have listed and drop the extra into a larger HDD or SSD.

Hope the build turns out nicely!

vitornob

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2008
Yes, I can see something wrong:
-Memory
-VGA
-CAS

-Memory
Sandy-bridge architecture don't have any real beneficts from faster memory than DDR3-1333mhz.
If you check for some benchmarks you gonna check that. (The apps that really have advantages is some synthetic specific memory benchmarks, i.e., nothing important)