Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Skyrim
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 10, 2011 8:51:55 AM

This is my computer
http://www.asus.com/Desktop/Gaming/Essentio_CG8350/#spe...

I regret buying it but I hope to fix it.
Basically it just has a lousy graphics card and low power supply.

What I want is to be able to run Skyrim at its highest settings. I've tried looking all over the internet and newegg, but it's a whole different language to me.

I have around $300 I'm willing to spend atm(a little over is fine with me), I don't want the best of the best to play the next Elder Scrolls. Just to be able to enjoy my current games(Skyrim/BF3) without any problems.

I was looking at this card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

But like I mentioned it's like some kind of other language. As for a fan, I have no clue.

It would really make my day if I could get any help. :sweat: 

TL;DR:
I'm not tech savvy, I have around $300, and I want to play Skyrim on Ultra at max or as close to max fps. :( 

More about : baby steps

a c 153 U Graphics card
December 10, 2011 9:04:41 AM

I must be blind but I don't see what CPU is in that computer?

What CPU is in that computer? Also it says it can come with a GTX 460, that should get you by pretty well in Skyrim.

Regardless of that, we need to know the resolution you will be playing at. At your budget should be looking at the 6950 1GB, 6950 2GB, GTX 560, GTX 560 Ti, GTX 560 Ti 448, and then coupling any of those with a decent power supply of 550-700~ watts of power from Antec, Corsair, Seasonic, XFX, PC Power and Cooling, Silverstone, and some OCZ and Cooler Master units.

To help you fully I need to know the exact CPU in that computer as well as the resolution of your monitor.

m
l
December 10, 2011 9:12:57 AM

When I reluctantly bought it, they said something about a Quad Core Intel Sandy Bridge CPU(I honestly don't know if that helps). I plan on playing 1920x1080 resolution.