$800 AMD Gaming Build

ElegantMess

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2012
I am new to Tom's Hardware but have always used it as a reference point. I am looking to build an AMD Gaming Rig, but not very familiar with all the choices and compatibility. I do not live near a Micro center (Rochester,NY) so New-egg is preferred site but open to suggestions, and I'm looking to make purchases in the next couple weeks. All that is needed tower and components, have OS,monitor,keyboard, mouse. Any and all help is greatly appreciated, thank you

ElegantMess

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Next couple of weeks

Budget Range: $800-$900

System Usage from Most to Least Important: GAMING

Parts Not Required: Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: New-Egg but open to suggestions

Parts Preferences: I want to go AMD, already have Intel

Overclocking: possibly

SLI or Crossfire: yes but not right away

ElegantMess

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2012
Hi, I'm new to Tom's Hardware but have always used it as a quality reference point. I have seen that here at Tom's you lean away from AMD but i already have an i7 system, hence why I want to go AMD this time. Any and all help, suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you and I hope to hear from you guys soon

what kind of I7? Unless its a sandy bridge I7, I'd still say AMD is not very good.

I'll quote the sub-$200 article last week.

"we're almost-shockingly left without an AMD CPU to recommend at any price point."

This picture shows the dual-core only Pentium G860 beats the AMD Phenom II 955, and all FX processors:
Averages.png

Pezcore27

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2012
Just for giggles, I'd rock this if I didnt build my i5 recently. Went for a kind of Industrial/Ninja theme. I nicknamed it "The Dark Horse"

CPU = AMD Phenom II x4 980

MOBO = Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

RAM = Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 8gb DDR3-1600

CPU COOLER = Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

CASE = Fractal Design Core 3000