Sign in with
Your question

1St test boot Good, incase test boot Bad

Last response: in Systems
February 9, 2012 5:25:52 PM

This is my first build and I followed instructions from newegg.com how to build a computer on youtube. Following their example I did and external build first and the test boot worked. (I got the Gigabyte splash screen.) Then I reassembled everything in the case. Then for my second test boot (first in the case) the screen stayed black. But all the fans were running and the led lights on the MB and video card were on. In an attempt to troubleshoot I swaped video cards but no change. Then I disassembled the parts from the case and redid the external build. This did not help, still no splash screen but the fan and led lights on the MB and video card continued to work.

It seems that sometime between my first test boot during the external build and second test boot when installed in the case something went wrong.

My question is what part do you think failed? I don't think it is the video card since my video card swap did not help. That leaves either the MB or CPU.

What do you think?

ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII TOP/2DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I52500K

Patriot Wildfire PW120GS25SSDR 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

IGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Corsair Carbide Series 500R White Steel structure with molded ABS plastic accent pieces ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive - OEM

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM