FX-4100/FX-4170 vs 2500K(Intel vs AMD)

aesma

Honorable
May 26, 2012
Why 2500K performs so much better than either one of these AMD processors?

Many people say that 2500k beasts FX-4100 and FX-4170 no big deal, and I've seen the benchmarks myself too, but I wonder.. WHY is that so?
AMD has higher clock speeds and has bigger chase expect for L1 cache and of course, they are alot cheaper.
They have the same amount of cores and they both share the same 32nm technology, but they have differences in cache technology, power consumption and of course different socket and architecture. So what of these things makes 2500K and generally speaking all the Intel's processors perform so much better?

The reason why I wonder about this stuff, is that I am currently studying computer technologies independently, so that one day I can build my own computers, and because it is alot fun too.

Robi_g

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012
AMD cores share some rescources, the FX4xxx has 2 bulldozer 'modules' whereas the i5 has 4 actual cores.
Also IPC matters a lot, that is performance per cycle, for example (hypothetically) the FX could do 10 things per cycle whereas the i5 (with better IPC) could do 15, those figures were made up to demonstrate this so don't quote them :p. so a higher clock speed is used to lessen this on FXs.
Difference like power consumption and cache stuff is just down to the architecture.

$hawn

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009
Archtevctural differences.....a huge one at that

An intel core can do much more work per GHz than an AMD currently can. Plus, the share an FPU between 2 integer cores.
Yes they have big L3 caches, but they are quite slow, ie, quite high latencies. Plus they have poor branch predictors = more cache misses, ie more performance loss.

Also, Intels 32nm is FAR more superior and matured vs GloFo leaky 32nm :)

The Greater Good

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2010
" They have the same amount of cores "