kiwiturkey

Distinguished
May 26, 2012
Hi, i am very new to computers. I am looking for an upgrade to the cheapest, but strong processor for the LGA 775 socket. I know it is very old, but i don't want to buy another motherboard. Can you guys help me find a LGA 775 processor that can play games like Diablo 3, LoL, HoN, WoW, and etc.
Any other suggestions such as motherboards would also help

kiwiturkey

Distinguished
May 26, 2012
sorry about that. im not looking for another motherboard. if you guys have more ideas of LGA 775 cpus that can run diablo 3 wtih high fps, please reply. Also i am looking for price ranges of $50-$99. Its okay if it's used, but has to be usable.

Well, I need to know what your current motherboard is to make a recommendation. Compatibility may be an issue, and there's no way to give you a solid recommendation without knowing what is compatible with your current motherboard.

And yes, your current CPU too, so we know how much of an improvement a new CPU will be and if it's worth it.

Alright, that's fine, just come back here when you get the system back and let us know.

Idonno

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2011
About 6yrs ago I upgraded my 2.8GHz CPU on my old Dell Dimension 4700 to a socket LGA 775 Intel Pentium 4 670 3.8GHz CPU for $140. This same CPU can now be purchased used on eBay for around $25. http://www.ebay.com/sch/Computer-Components-Parts-/175673/i.html?_nkw=intel%20pentium%204%203.8GHz&_sop=15

It's important to note that on many (if not most) pre-built PC's upgrading the CPU often requires an upgrade of the manufacturers proprietary CPU cooling assembly. For my PC this cost an additional $45 ($28 @ today's prices W/all new OEM parts S&H not included)

While it's certainly debatable whether upgrading an old PC is worth it, for me I think it was. Even though I now have a much faster PC there are still some reasons I want a separate PC for XP. At today's prices of $53 to upgrade from 2.8GHz to 3.8GHz, It's even more worthwhile.

Idonno