Sign in with
Your question
Closed

First Timer Build, Can't even Post

Last response: in Systems
February 10, 2012 9:42:04 PM

Well let me show you guys the parts I got:

Graphics Card: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
MotherBoard: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
HDD: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1682...
RAM: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1682...

CPU: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
PSU: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
Monitor: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1682...
PC Case/Tower: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

Bluray Burner: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1682...

This was my first time building and let me tell you this, I am a complete newb. You might see mention some things that a first timer like me would do.

Alright so I tried to follow steps on how to build a PC together from three different websites. And I ended up having the PSU and the CPU fan only rotate for a few seconds before it stops when I turn on the PC. The PC doesn't even turn on at all. The motherboard has it's Start and Reset LEDs flashing when the power is connected.

Ok here are some problems I speculate that might be causing this:
-I might have let some static electricity through to one of the computer components and forgot to ground myself, but thats probably me being paranoid because I constantly touched the CPU case every time I moved an inch.

-When I didn't read the instructions and idiotically attempted to insert the HDD into the area where you place the DVD Burner instead, I lightly scraped against a metal piece on the motherboard, but it was a tick. Then I had to take out the HDD again realizing I put it in the wrong area and I could have taken out the tray from the front after reading the instructions (FINALLY)