High CPU and ambient air temps

PostConsumerWat

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2011
I have been experiencing higher than normal temperatures ever since I have upgraded from 4 to 8 GB of RAM.

Replacing the RAM involved removing the after-market cooler, and re-applying thermal paste.

I made some progress today in re-applying the thermal paste and dropped my temps be a few degrees, but I am not sure if the high temperatures that I am encountering are due to ambient temperatures, or possibly some kind of RAM problem (or possibly more RAM somehow adding to the core temps?).

It's my first build:

Phenom II 965BE 3.6 GHz @1.35v | AC Freezer 64 Pro | MX-2 thermal compound
4Gx2|GSKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL@ 1333 8-8-8-24
XFX 5870 1GB
MB MSI 870A-G54 AM3
PSU ANTEC|EA650
CASE CM|haf-922

The major thing that is making me confront this issue is that my CPU core temps were going too high while running Prime95 at stock speed while under-volted.

I ran Prime95 for maybe 4-8 minutes using the above configuration and core temps were around 60-62.

ambient temperature may be 27 degrees Celsius or above.

Solution

That might be the case...

Even if it's not, you'll see much better performance with a Hyper212 series cooler than a 92MM based cooler :lol:

Good luck!
80F is roughly equivalent to 27C...which means your Delta temperature is roughly 35C.

In the room I'm working in, the temperature is around 23C (74F)...and running Prime95 for 10 minutes on SmallFFT's gave me a max temperature of around 51C (Delta of around 28C)...

I'm running an X4 955 @ 3.8Ghz at 1.425v cooled by a Hyper212+ in the stock push configuration.

Your CPU is significantly warmer considering how much less the voltage is...and I highly doubt our difference in coolers can make such a big difference.

Our CPU's will be about 5-7C apart at peak guaranteed due to our differences in ambient temps, but putting that aside, I highly doubt a second stick of RAM could have caused your CPU to suddenly sky-rocket in temperature.