tarot_15

Honorable
May 28, 2012
Hello,
I want to start off by thanking everybody on this forum. It's helped me out numerous times. here are some specs

890FXA-GD70 motherboard
AMD FX-6100 hexcore processor
WD 1tb hard drive
4x4gig Corsair Vengeance RAM cards (1600Mhz)
PNY GT 520 video card
Raidmax Viper case (with 500W power supply)

I installed everything and turned it on but got an "FF" code on the motherboard with no video out. The mouse has power running to it as does my keyboard, all the fans and LED lights on the case turn on as well. I tried taking RAM out and trying it in subsequent slots, re-setting the CPU, replacing the graphics card with another of the same model, re-connecting all of the power cords to no avail.

Am i at the point where i should replace the board? is the graphics card incompatible with my mobo?

This is my first time building a PC from scratch so any information i can get to AT LEAST get video to show up would be extremely helpful

Thank you

Solution
tarot...the problem with all mb and hardware is when a part comes out it may need a bios update three weeks latter becuase amd or intel has a new cpu. as you can see in the guild book for the mb there is a long list of cpu that the stock mb bios will boot from. a few things that would help builders and stores that people should push back on the vendors is putting a bios lable on the side of the mb box. if it an older bios then people would know there they have to have an older cpu to boot and flash or have the store update the bios for you. start using a bios flash back system like the new asus boards do. you dont need ram or cpu in the mb to flash it.

tarot_15

Honorable
May 28, 2012
I went through the steps you gave me (thank you) and i'm back at square one. How can i tell if i shorted out the board? all the fans run perfectly and the power buttons etc. work. i just can't get any video

Did you use the stand-offs provided to install the motherboard in the case?