Sign in with
Your question

Proxy servers and privacy

Last response: in Networking
March 1, 2011 7:57:13 PM

I've been reading a lot lately about how marketing companies gather all kinds of information on me while I browse websites and I've read that a good way to bypass all that is to connect to a proxy and then browse the internet through that.

But I've got a question. Even though my ISP won't be able to see what I do past connecting to the proxy, the proxy server will still keep that information in some kind of logs, won't it? So doesn't that kind of defeat the purpose? I'll just be trading giving my browsing information to ISP with giving the information to whoever is the owner of the proxy server. How do I know I can trust the proxy server with my personal information?

Are there any high-profile, respectable and secure websites that offer proxies that I could trust?

I've never used a proxy before, so thanks in advance for any help or advice you can give me.

More about : proxy servers privacy

March 1, 2011 10:47:39 PM

Yep, that's a problem. Anytime you're using a proxy/VPN, you're assuming the provider can be trusted. But we don't have any trust model, auditing, etc., on the Internet for these services/providers. You're simply basing your trust on blind faith!

That's why I'm ***very*** leery of all proxies. In fact, you're sometimes better off just dumping your data on the greater internet and hoping it gets lost in the mass of other traffic. When you use a proxy, you actually make it far easier to snoop should the provider have evil intent.