Advice on htpc build.

Tags:
  • Build
  • AMD
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
February 9, 2012 11:58:11 AM

Hello,
I am looking to build a htpc and would like some opinions on the components I am (tentativele) planning to use.

Processor: AMD A8-3870K Black or AMD A8-3850
Motherboard: AMD F1A75-M or F1A75-M PRO
RAM: AMD Dual Channel 1333mhz AE34G1609U2
Hard drive: Used 7200rpm 60gb for system(optional ssd if I have money left over) + 2tb WD external for media.
Blu-Ray Drive: ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM #N82E16827135247 (or the same from LG)
Case: Undecided, most likely a silverstone htpc case with power supply and fans included.

This is my first build in many years, so, any help or guidance is appreciated.
Thanks.

More about : advice htpc build

February 9, 2012 2:39:23 PM

60GB hard drive... one that old must be IDE. Neither of those motherboards has an IDE port.

Go for 1600 RAM. It's the same price as 1333 these days and the Llano video loves the faster memory.

That's my 2¢.
m
l
a b À AMD
February 9, 2012 7:57:41 PM

You dont need 8 cores for an htpc, drop down to 4 core or an intel i3 dual core and put some of that money towards your ssd.

You dont have a remote listed, what are you planning on using?
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

February 9, 2012 8:47:39 PM

A8 isn't an 8 core cpu. its a quad with a better graphics section than the A6. you don't need an SSD for an htpc, but a smaller hdd is fine for the os, as long as its sata.

And yes, go for the faster memory as it helps the gpu.

The K chip isn't really needed unless you want fan noise for overclocking it. I have my A8-3850 undervolted by 0.17v and the fan never speeds up. Plays full 1080p 3D just fine.
a b À AMD
February 9, 2012 10:15:24 PM

Depending on what you want to do with it but much cheaper a6 or a4 chips could be enough for an htpc. If you want to play games then the A8 3870k would be nice but get a nice cooler for it to keep it quiet.
m
l
February 10, 2012 7:14:02 PM