Sign in with
Your question

560TI SLI and PSU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 13, 2011 2:48:38 PM

Hi this is my first time posting on tomshardware and I'm not sure if im on the right forum, but heres the problem:

I'm looking to add another 560 TI to my current one, but my 700w PSU is limiting. I've done a lot of research on this topic, and some people say it'll work some say it won't. Many say that it can work with a GOOD 700w PSU, so I'll be a little specific about my system and hope some of you can tell me if mine is ok.

The PSU I have is about 3 to 4 years old. http://www.rocketfishproducts.com/products/computer-acc...
It's manufacturered by rocketfish, not a famous brand, but it worked fine in the past few years.

My spec:
Mobo: P8Z68-V PRO
CPU: i7-2700k @ 4.8ghz 1.38v
hard drive: 1TB 7200RPM
ram: 2x4gb 1600mhz corsair vengence

If this PSU won't support 2 560ti's, i'll have to add another 150 bucks or so to the cost, and I don't know if it's worth it tbh. What's your opinion?

Any suggestion is appreciated. Thanks for reading.

More about : 560ti sli psu

a c 272 U Graphics card
December 13, 2011 3:33:56 PM

If you were to run your CPU at the default speed it might be OK.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
December 13, 2011 4:05:16 PM

asurastrike said:

this PSU won't support 2 560ti's, i'll have to add another 150 bucks or so to the cost, and I don't know if it's worth it tbh. What's your opinion?

Correct it's only a 550 watt psu to begin with, 700w is it's Peak rating
Why another $150 ? There are plenty of options for less
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submi...

Up to you if it's worth it.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
December 13, 2011 5:13:54 PM

With that overclock and 2 cards..I recommend getting 850W for around $100..anything with 70amps on the 12v rail. And if you want to be good for another 4-5 yrs then spend $130-$140 on 1000W PSU with 80-82amps on 12v rail..thats a sign of a good PSU...