Sign in with
Your question

Console Gamer looking to switch to PC for good

Last response: in Systems
February 12, 2012 2:06:31 AM

I would like to build my first PC and gear it for gaming. I want to be able to run at least 60 FPS on ultra/high settings with 1080p resolution. Games like Battlefield 3, Skyrim, and the games coming out over the next 3 or 4 years assuming games do not make major graphical breakthroughs.

I am looking at the following hardware but I am not set on any particular item. My max budget is $2,000 USD but I would like to use only half that if possible.

CPU
i5 2500k 3.3GHz (3.7GHz turbo boost)
was looking at i7 2600k and 2700k but heard not a noticeable difference than the i5 2500k
MOBO
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
not sure if it would be easy to overclock with this board and I am a beginner at overclocking
RAM
G.Skillz Ripjaws X series (2x4) 8GB (1600)
I was going to use Corsair Vengeance (4x4) 16GB (1600) but not sure if I would just be wasting money
GPU
EVGA GTX580 (Fermi) 1536MB
open to SLI/Crossfire not sure if I should mess with it considering I am a novice
PSU
Cool Master Silent Pro 850W
Not sure what Wattage I will need to power rig and possible overclocking
HDD
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0 G/B
definitely not set on any HDD all seem over priced and mixed reviews.
Optical Drive
Lite-On Black 18x DVD-ROM 48x CD-ROM SATA
was debating getting a bluray drive instead
Case
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower w/upgraded USB 3.0
would like to get the case right first time around for future builds and upgrading interested in water cooling not sure if I will need it.

Total: 1,357.92 from Newegg.com
February 12, 2012 2:36:53 AM

We need a specific budget. The thing we're really good at here is maxing out a given budget. If you want that to be $1357.92, so be it. If you want it to be $1000 or if you'd be willing to go to $2000, tell us.