Sign in with
Your question

When all is built what bios and partition settings...

Last response: in Systems
February 12, 2012 2:11:49 PM

Sorry never built or installed an os or format HDD always bought from shop and when necessary factory resetted, so im almost complete noob here. Just trying to get ready for when my parts all come tomorrow

So when my pc is built and turns on I go to bios set to boot from cd, should i adjust any other bios settings disabling un used ports, raid functions etc.

and when i format HDD do i just set 2 partitions one for OS and the other for storage(I think this is right)?

Finally how much should the os partition be, as I wonder whether it should be exact amount needed or a touch more to be safe?
February 12, 2012 2:47:21 PM

Don't worry about doing anything in the BIOS unless it doesn't work without it.

I would turn the computer on, hit the BIOS key to pause the boot process, insert the CD, and then hit to exit the BIOS and continue booting.

If it doesn't autodetect the CD drive and ask if you want to boot from the CD, then you can restart and worry about changing the boot order.

I would put the Hard drive in Sata0 when you are wiring things.

Also, I wouldn't worry about partitions right away. Just tell it to install the OS on the whole hard drive and then worry about partitioning stuff later. If you want to have a separate data partition you can make those changes within Windows once everything is setup.

After you install the OS, install an anti-virus right away. You will not want to leave a computer connected to the internet very long without an anti-virus installed. Windows should install a firewall that will keep people out long enough to get an anti-virus installed. Microsoft Security Essentials is a free one that does fairly well.