Sign in with
Your question

CPU Upgrade help

Last response: in CPUs
May 30, 2012 12:48:12 AM

New to the website and sick of Google not telling me what I want to hear. I Have a Pentium dual core e5500@2.80GHZ W/ 3.25 GB RAM. I Want to start upgrading my PC so I can edit in Sony Vegas faster and with less lag. What I want to know is what I can upgrade too that will make a difference.

Also, I have a 32 bit Windows XP OS and was wondering if I should wait and upgrade to windows 7 64 bit... I Have no experience with computers so please show some leniency. Thanks for your time and possible help.

More about : cpu upgrade

a b à CPUs
May 30, 2012 1:13:52 AM

You probably want an LGA 775 quad core Intel processor.

The QX9770 is about the best the slot can possibly hold, but you would have to check whether your motherboard can support a 136w processor or not. That would also be the most expensive option.

A Q9650 would also fit the LGA 775 slot and its only a 95w processor so its much more likely the motherboard is capable of running it. It is less expensive than the QX9770, but probably easier to find.

The Q9650 isn't a lot faster in clock speeds than your current one (3.0 GHZ), but the 2 extra cores should be picked up by Sony Vegas and used to very good effect.

The Q9950 would be another option that would be 2.83 ghz per core but with 4 cores. It would have most of the benefit of the 9650 because of the extra cores, but for anything that can only use 2 cores it would be no better than what you have now.

Windows 7 64 bit vs XP 32 bit... I made the switch some time ago and kinda wish I had done so sooner. I am usually one of the slowest to pick up a new OS, because it allows me to skip the worthless OSs like Windows ME and Vista, but for the really good ones like Windows 7 it slows down my adopting a really good OS too.