Can I Fit A Good Video Card In A Mini Case?

jaydge

Honorable
May 30, 2012
I'm looking to build a computer that is slim enough to mount on the side of my small corner desk. I can go up to 6" wide on the inside, or up to 4" wide on the outside. I'd love to be able to fit the case on the outside so I can have more leg room, but I'm ok with it on the inside if it means cheaper components, more options or better specs.

I'm not a gamer and I don't need something to support ultra-smooth gaming FPS. I'm a web developer, and on rare occasions I do video editing, but probably the most intense use the video card will get is playing back Blu-ray DVDs when I'm using the system as a bedroom entertainment center. Even this is not critical to me; if BD playback is lower quality that's ok with me. However, I don't want some piece of crap card if I can help it, because it's a bummer on those types of occasions to have the computer chop out and not handle it.

That said, I do want to trick out the rest of the system. I'm looking at Core i5-3570K CPU, an ASUS Z77 mobo, 16GB RAM, 120GB Intel SSD for the Primary HDD, 2TB SATA-III Data drive, Blu-Ray Burner and hopefully a half decent video card. Maybe for those other specs right there a mini case would be too restrictive anyway; I'm not sure.

In my research so far, I'm seeing that it's next to impossible to get a decent video card if you can't fit a standard size PCI card in your case. This pretty much rules out mini cases and motherboards that aren't full ATX it seems.

The best video card options I've really seen for less than full-height PCI cards are the GeForce GT 630 and the Radeon HD 6450, neither of which seemed very impressive, though I suppose they're better than the built-in Intel graphics on the Core i5-3570K (am I wrong?)

The smallest decent-looking ATX case I found was the Cooler Master Elite 361, at 5.9" wide. Bonus, it doesn't come with a power supply since I'd be upgrading that anyway.