Sign in with
Your question

Need an Ultrabook or new laptop!

Last response: in Systems
February 13, 2012 8:47:05 PM

I'm new at the forums and hope this is the right place for this thread. Anyway...

I have recently entered the new laptop market.
Here's what I believe I will need:

• Storage – Must be SSD - Size/Capacity does not matter as long as it's above or is 120 Gigabytes. However, more is better.
• Screen Size – Must be above 13", but no larger than 15.6. Anything in between should be fine.
• Profile – Thinner than or as thick as an inch, but not too much more (I can be pretty flexible on this).
• Portability – Shouldn’t be too heavy. I need to be able to carry around in a backpack.
• RAM – 4 Gigabytes as the bare minimum. Once again, more is better.
• Processor – I’m an Intel person and would love an i5 Processor.
• Battery Life – I’m a student, I would probably need about 6 hours (on low power, just using Microsoft Word). I have realistic expectations on this and realize that while gaming or using other processor intensive and graphics intensive tasks that it shouldn’t be much longer than 3 hours (Is that right?).
• Bluetooth – In this world, obviously a necessity.
• Wi-Fi – This should support up to 108.11n, for future proof reasons. I will be using 108.11g as that is the highest setting my AT&T U-Verse router will support.
• Screen – HD would be great, but I don’t need a great screen. I will not be doing a lot of photo or video editing, etc.
• Ports – More is better, but I will definitely need: 2 USBs, some sort of VGA out (mini-VGA would be fine) and a way to use an Ethernet (Cat 5e) cable in case of Wi-Fi failure or no Wi-Fi available.

This laptop will mostly be used for browsing the internet, email, Microsoft Office applications (Mostly Word, PowerPoint and a little bit of Excel), and some light gaming (Online games as well as some Minecraft). This will be a very school based laptop.