Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Two Choices of GPUs

Last response: in Systems
February 14, 2012 3:39:19 PM

I'm getting a temporary card until we get a clearer picture between Nvidia and ATI high end cards pan out. I'm new at gaming and was wondering which of these two cards would you choose:

XFX 6770 or GTX 550Ti. I want to purchases a temporary GPU under $150. I want to play Fallout New Vegas: Ultimate and Morrowind.

More about : choices gpus

Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
February 14, 2012 5:33:06 PM

sadams04 said:
HD 6870 => http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

You should be able to sell the HD 6870 when you get a more clear picture of which high end card you want to buy. There will be plenty of folks out there looking to CF their HD 6870...

Should it be clear now? Nvidia has yet to answer the HD 7970 right? Another concern is when Nvidia comes out with their answer, wouldn't HD 7970 price drop?

Thanks for the advice of a 6870; no reason to entirely waste money :)  But at Newegg, there are 400+ (4/5 stars) reviews for this particular Sapphire HD 6750 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...; should that concern me over your advice?
February 14, 2012 5:44:29 PM

If you are going for a temporary GPU, I would take one of the following approaches:
1. If your motherboard has a single PCIE slot, get a HD6670. It is the least expensive option, but can play those games, with decent settings (i.e. at least medium).
2, If your mobo has two or more PCIE slots, AND you want PhysX for any of your games, get something like a GTS450 now. You'll be able to play your games now, but should you choose a high-end nVidia card later (or feel like playing driver games if you get an AMD card), you'll be able to offload the PhysX processing onto this card later, while using the new one for your display.

Edit: If you get a HD6670, make sure it has GDDR5, not DDR3.
February 14, 2012 5:52:00 PM

Onus said: