Status
Not open for further replies.

ridd21

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2012
Hey,my HWmonitor and Asrock extreme tuner showed my i5 3570k at 104 degrees Cel while I was playing battlefield 3 the cpu is at stock settings with the stock intel fan. the heatsink is installed on it tight. could that have been a faulty reading? it seems to always show it running high on other games but thats the highest ive seen it ever. I have 5 120mm Coolmaster fans installed in my case. at the temps it showed my cpu at it wasnt slowing down the computer didnt shut off or anything and ive heard the CPU's have a built in safety system so they wont fry themselves. I have a coolmaster evo 212 heatsink im going to install just waiting on the Artic silver 5 thermal compound to come in. but that just doesnt seem right at all for it to get that high and it run smooth or not shut down. so im wondering if I'm getting alot of bad readings. btw my Mobo is the Asrock extreme 4 z77. thanks ahead of time for all your input :)

Solution

I still think the stock HSF isn't seated well because there's no way it would be getting that hot if it was, but if you don't want to wait to get the AS5, installing the 212 Evo with the Cooler Master stuff is just fine.

ridd21

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2012
No the reading shows right now on HWMonitor max reading was 104 C equaling out to 219 F and Asrock Extreme tuner showed it at the same at the time. right now more less in idle its showing it at 46 C.

azed3000

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2012

I agree, either the reading is in Fahrenheit or its being read wrong. For a 3rd generation 22nm chip to be that hot during normal game play without overclock is not even logical. Those chips should be running max 50 degrees on stock settings in my opinion, especially since they are efficient version of the 2nd gen chips.

ridd21

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2012