Best GPU for AMD A6-3500

neliel123

Honorable
Jun 1, 2012
Hi,

I am thinking of assembling a budget PC for decent gaming purpose. Not to be used on the latest games now.

I am no PC expert but I see this processor from ASUS as cheap.

AMD A6-3500 (2.1G) 3mb

Question:
1. Do I still need to add external GPU for this processor. From the specs, they say it has built in video card.
2. If I ever I buy, what brand of Video card would be better to add more performance?

-MSI HD5450 1gb ddr3
-Inno3d
-Palit
-Asus

These are the available GPU on the store.

Thanks.

neliel123

neliel123

Honorable
Jun 1, 2012

Thanks for the answer.

But currently in the store no Radeon GPU is available and only the list above.

Will the other GPU have impact? I am leaning towards buying the MSI but will it boost the performance of my APU?

here's a list of gpus that can crossfire (amd calls them 'amd dual graphics') with amd desktop apus:
http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/dual-graphics/Pages/dual-graphics.aspx
read the faq section too.
imo 5450 is weaker than the integrated gpu in the amd apus. a radeon 6670 will bring in the best performance in games that can use 'amd dual graphics'. there is a catch though. the 'amd dual graphics' mode does not work in directx 9.0 games. so if you play dx9 games, make sure you have the 6670 selected as your primary gpu. 6670 will be adequate for older games by itself. if you have no other radeon cards avilable (seems kinda unlikely..) you should stick with the integrated gpu for the time being and get a 6670 after saving some money. make sure you get ddr3 1600 ram as the integrated gpu performs better with faster ram.
as for your earlier quastions,
1. the gpu is okay for playing games at lower settings and for older games. if you think you need more performance, you can add one of the crossfirable gfx cards to your system (see above).
2. see above. it'll depend on your budget and willingness to spend extra.

joeythellama

Distinguished