2007 setup cheap upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

wolfman1243

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2012
I am running these components:

* AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor ADX6000CZBOX

* ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

* XFX PVT84JYAJG GeForce 8600 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 SLI Support Video Card

PQI POWER Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MAD44GUOE-X2

I am wanting to upgrade to Windows 7 and have been told by Asus that the MOBO will not work. This is the only component that I have an issue with. I am also having trouble finding a board that is compatible with the processor and windows as i am not good at doing research. Can anyone help me? I need to do this as cheap as possible.

Solution
I found only one full-size board on Newegg that supports the Athlon64:
The ASRock A770DE+.

It doesn't seem to be totally awful but I don't have the same perception of ASRock boards that I do of Asus, MSI, and eVGA, at least in their more premium offerings. Spec-wise, it fits your requirements perfectly and on ASRock's product page, Win7 compliance is claimed. I hope this board solves your problems.

Worst case, you're only out $62 or so. Best case, you can drop a PhenomII quad or hex core CPU in it for a nice bump in CPU performance later on, but it will be a little hamstrung with DDR2 memory.
D

Deleted member 217926