Sign in with
Your question

Can I upgrade graphics card? .. info inside thread

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 17, 2011 12:48:45 PM

Im new to upgrading and want to sort out a more powerful graphic solution for playing Star Wars - The Old Republic.

I currently use NVIDIA GT 220 in a Medion PC MT7.
I'd like to upgrade my graphics to a RADEON HD 6950 2GB.

My system is as follows...

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz, 2499 Mhz

Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
System Model MS-7366
PSU 350W <<< this I know I have to change to 500W+

The nvidia card is plugged into a 'PCI-E x16 slot' (info from MS-7366 manual).

Can I simply pull that out and plug in a Radeon 9650??
and is my Processor acceptable??

Any advice will be great, thanks.

:) 

Marc

a b U Graphics card
December 17, 2011 1:25:20 PM

Basically you could do that indeed, however, as you mentioned you HAVE to make sure your PSU is good enough.

Furthermore you also have to ensure that you have enough physical space in your case, the 6950 is a HUGE card, so take some measurements making sure that it fits.

As for your CPU, it's ok, defenitely not the best out there, but should be good enough. Might want to consider a step down in graphics card with that CPU though, a 6850 should be more than plenty powerful, and more likely to physically fit.

December 17, 2011 1:51:33 PM

Thanks for the heads up! most appreciated. 1st attempt at any kind of upgrading, learnt loads online, beginning to strain my head with it all. Think i've just got myself a new hobby. :) 
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
December 17, 2011 1:54:53 PM

Hahaha, well i'll tell you that's how I started. At first it's a bit of a hassle but after a while it becomes real easy.

You'll start with small upgrades like a video card or a hard drive, and you'll eventually just build your machine! :) 

Have fun and if you have any questions feel free to ask!
December 17, 2011 3:08:33 PM