Sign in with
Your question

Warning for pcu fan when plugged directly to psu

Last response: in Systems
February 16, 2012 12:03:37 PM

Hello all,
This is my first time posting so please excuse any breach in ediquette.
I just finished my pc and have 1 remaining minor issue:
When I installed the cpu fan I plugged it directly to the psu and not to the motherboard. I did this for 2 reasons 1st I had the wrong number of pins on the fan I was using and no adapter, and 2nd I had an extra 120mm "silent typhoon" fan that has great flow and is whisper quiet. The system runs at almost inaudible levels, but every time I turn it on I get a warning that the cpu fan is not running. I have gone into the bios and told it to ignore the cpu fan, but the error message is still there. Furthermore, every once in awhile I get a system error stating that overclocking failed which requires me to go into the bios and re-select my system overclock even though I am running stable and cool (30 C while running Autocad 2012, Mudbox 2012, 3D studio simultaneously). I'm sure I could put my system in a more rigorous test, but that is beyond what I run it at. Any advise would be greatly appreciated

I7 2600k
GTX 580
ASUS p8p67pro
Kngston Hyper X 1600mhz 8gb
Corsair Force 3
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
February 16, 2012 12:53:32 PM

Get an adapter and use the cpu fan header on the MoBo. I do not know if there is any way to disable those warnings. Over the years I have had the failed oc event on start up also. Knowing the system is stable, I just restart and it never happens a second time. It may happen once or twice a year. Here is an example of the adapter (http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g2/c251/s634/list/p1/Ca...). Just to be sure about stability, I would use Real Temps (http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/) and run Prime (http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=205) for up to 24 hours.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
February 16, 2012 3:40:51 PM