Sign in with
Your question

First time NOOB Budget PC

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2012 12:57:18 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: This week but I can wait if there's something major coming out.

Budget Range: 500~ After Rebates I might be able to afford some more but I'm a university student so tight budget.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Hardcore gaming

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, old hard drive. I also have an external cd drive i don't know if that can replace an internal one to save money
I can buy a window 7 professional upgrade for 60 bucks but is that OS or just an upgrade for window 7 becaus I don't have a OS right now. Are there any deals for students?

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: neweggs, amazon, I never been to a microcenter but there is one 30 minutes away

Parts Preferences: I don't know if this is possible but since I'm in University I would like a tower that is not too big so I can carry it back home on commercial airlines. If it's not then I guess its okay I'll think of something when transporting my pc.

Overclocking: Never done it before

SLI or Crossfire: I don't know what that is

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 21 inch monitor

Additional Comments: Again, it would be GREAT if this pc can be small but if not it's okay. Also I'm playing on a laptop with i5 430m and a Ati HD5145 so I don't know how much I need to build a pc that is significantly better!

Edit:
I'm considering to add more money to the budget if the pc is small enough and fast enough because then I can get more use out of it during the summer. The ITX gaming machines looks really good for my situation but I don't know if the size will make the pc slower.

More about : time noob budget

February 17, 2012 1:10:28 AM

Colleges and University's usually offer Windows 7 dirt cheap, I got mine for $20 from mine!
m
l
February 17, 2012 1:22:36 AM

I'll look into that!
m
l
Related resources
February 17, 2012 2:07:46 AM