Sign in with
Your question

Need help with $450 budget PC

Last response: in Systems
February 18, 2012 10:35:20 AM

Hey guys, I plan on building a new PC to upgrade from my 6+ year old dino to hopefully have a better gaming experience. This is my first time building a PC so some things may not be compatible, but I've tried my best to understand the basics on what I need and tried to put together something that works.

I tried to make this computer as upgradeable friendly as possible as I do plan on upgrading the CPU and adding a GFX card later down the road, so getting a good mobo and case is a must. Anyways, onto the info!

Approximate Purchase Date: In a few days to a week.
Budget Range: $400-460 *including shipping*
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Watching movies/youtube, and browsing the web
Parts Not Required: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor, Speakers, OS
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg
Parts Preferences: Ivy Bridge ready mobo and stylish spacious Case
Overclocking: No / In the Future
SLI or Crossfire: No
Monitor Resolution: 1024x768
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Case: RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEBP 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower + Power Supply
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68
CPU: Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core
RAM: Kingston HyperX X2 Grey Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
HD: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD1600AAJS 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Optical Drive: LG 22X Super-Multi DVD Burner

And there you have it. I plan on using the integrated HD 2000 graphics from the CPU as my main graphics for now until I can get my hands on more cash to spend on a discrete GFX. All together it comes at less than $470 if I can buy everything before the end of Presidents day.