Sign in with
Your question

Buying a HP Compaq XW6200 can I add parts?

Last response: in Systems
February 18, 2012 8:51:08 PM

Hi guys

I am a bit of a noob at PCs especially when it comes to compatibility and motherboards. I was looking for a computer on ebay and stumbled upon this computer:

Specs:
HP Compaq XW6200
Intel Xeon 3.4Ghz (+1free socket)
1024MB Ram
160GB Harddrive
2x CDRW/DVD-Rom Combo Drive
Windows XP Pro preloaded (With Genuine COA)
10/100 RJ45 Network
8x USB2.0 Sockets
4x PCI Expansion Slot
PCI-Express Socket
256MB Nvidia FX3400 Graphics Card
Onboard Sound
Parrallel & Serial Ports

Now, I'm aiming for a mid range gaming pc, and I know the RAM/Hard drive/GPU are pretty much insufficient.
Is it possible for me to take these parts out and replace them with newer/better parts such as a GTX 460 and 4GB RAM? ( in the case of the Hard drive put another one in as a slave- I think they are called ).

Thanks in advance! :) 
February 18, 2012 11:03:47 PM

You want to try and use this for gaming? Xeon was used for servers. 1gb of ram is worthless. A 160gb hdd is worthless. XP will shortly not be supported. The graphics card is worse than onboard on new systems. I hope its not more than $150 and then I wouldn't buy it. If you want to game stay away from this and save your money.

You need $500 to get into a basic system now so perhaps you can share your budget?
February 18, 2012 11:29:24 PM

QuietPC said:
You want to try and use this for gaming? Xeon was used for servers. 1gb of ram is worthless. A 160gb hdd is worthless. XP will shortly not be supported. The graphics card is worse than onboard on new systems. I hope its not more than $150 and then I wouldn't buy it. If you want to game stay away from this and save your money.

You need $500 to get into a basic system now so perhaps you can share your budget?

Ah right thanks for warning me, it was 100 pounds.