Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First build of gaming system - any comments?

Last response: in Systems
February 20, 2012 2:09:29 PM

Hello ... noob here!

I've been researching for about a week, and I am getting closer to starting my first build. It will be my main computer, so I'll be using it for productivity (Office), CS5 (PS and Illustrator), and gaming (mostly FP shooters). But I want it to be a good gaming rig, so my budget is about 45,000 THB (1,500 USD) but I could go higher.

I am living in Thailand (not Bangkok) so I have limited access to components and the prices are higher than in the west. I may be able to get some parts ordered from Bangkok, but I prefer to see it first hand before I buy.

I don't plan to OC now, but who knows ...

So here is what I have in mind...

Case: CoolerMaster HAF 912 Advance
PSU: Corsair 850AX
MoBo: ASRock z68 extreme 3 Gen 3
CPU: i5-2500K
Cooling: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus Evo
GPU: Leadtek GTX560Ti
Mem: DDR3 2x4gb /1600 Corsair Vengeance Red
Hard Drive: WD 1T
SSD: Corsair 120 GB
Optical drive: Samsung 22x DVD writer
Keyboard and mouse: probably Logitech

Some concerns I have:

Should I get a BlueRay drive? BR discs are not common here.
Do I need an SSD? The consensus seems to be Samsung SSD or nothing. I may be able to order from Bangkok.
Anything strange in this build i.e. something missing or unnecessary?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.

Cheers.

Best solution

February 20, 2012 2:15:52 PM

sithone said:
Some concerns I have:

Should I get a BlueRay drive? BR discs are not common here.
Do I need an SSD? The consensus seems to be Samsung SSD or nothing. I may be able to order from Bangkok.
Anything strange in this build i.e. something missing or unnecessary?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.

Cheers.