Sign in with
Your question
Closed

4 year old computer and radeon 6950

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 22, 2011 12:17:24 AM

Hello there, I was wondering if the radeon 6950 would fit/work in my 4 year old hp GN556AA-ABA (all specs can be found below). I would really like to play the game Star Wars the Old Republic (System requirements are found below) but my gpu and psu are severely out of date. I was thinking of getting the radeon 6950 because I've heard good things about it, but I will also need a new psu. Could you please give me some advice on which gpu and psu to buy?

Some extra information: I'm new to custom parts in a computer and gaming on a pc. I'm also willing to pay for the radeon 6950 and 60/70 dollars for the psu.

Computer specs: http://www.epinions.com/specs/Hewlett_Packard_HP_PAVILI...

Game requirements: http://www.swtor.com/info/faq#171060

Radeon hd 6950: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
a b U Graphics card
December 22, 2011 12:28:05 AM

A 6950 will most certainly improve your gaming performance a ton (it's many times more powerful than the GPU in your specs). However, there are a few things that may limit your game performance, meaning you wouldn't be able to fully utilize the graphics horsepower of that card:

- 2GB of ram will limit performance
- Your processor will limit performance- overclocking isn't really an option with most pre-builts like HP, Dell, etc.

I'd honestly recommend you try to put together a few hundred more dollars and go for a new rig- Tom's has great articles about $500 gaming PCs each quarter. A decent setup will last you a long time, and you can upgrade your GPU as needed. Just need to get on a more modern platform!
Score
December 22, 2011 12:35:37 AM