Phenom II X4 955 Fan Speed?

Anthony1025

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2011
OK,so my problem is my CPU fan reaches about 6000 RPM. Under strain of gaming on high graphics my CPU's max temperature reaches 60c. I'm using a the stock AMD cooler that came with the CPU and I haven't reapplied any thermal paste other than what came with it. Now,I'm not too experienced,but isn't 6000 RPM too much for a CPU at 60c max? I've noticed that this produces a EXTREMELY loud noise and nearly shakes my desk making pc gaming a little bothersome.
Here's the rest of my specs,

Motherboard : ASRock m3A770DE
CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955e @ 3.2 Ghz
RAM : 8GBs of DDR3 RAM
Video Card : NVIDIA Geforce GTX 560
Power Supply : Thermaltake TR-600P TR2 Series ATX Power Supply - 600W Link

Is there any type of way I can reduce the RPM on my CPU without causing overheating? Like going into the BIOS settings or using a software. If those options are not possible would purchasing a new CPU heatsink and paste help reduce the heat,which would reduce the noise and RPM? At first I thought it was my power-supply making the sounds,but after looking through CPUID I noticed the sound only occurred when the RPM increased. Thanks for any replies and hopefully someone can guide me to the right answers.

Solution

Yes. Going from Level 1 to Level 5 is why it increased the idle fan speed, which would result in a lower idle temp. Lowering it back down to Level 1 will decrease the idle fan speed, but increase the idle temp. It basically comes down to a compromise between noise and temperature. You said that you're concerned with the noise during gaming, so I would try something like 55C/Level 2 for a while. Temps will be higher, but it should be quieter. Keep an eye on your max temperature and see if it goes above 65C. If it does, then try 55C/Level 3 and just keep going up a level until you're not...

teh_gerbil

Honorable
Apr 9, 2012
Unfortunately, you're almost damned until you get a better cooler.