Sign in with
Your question

CPU Fan not spinning

Last response: in Systems
February 22, 2012 4:24:00 PM

Hi, when i run a practice test on my motherboard outside of my case to see if everything is working, my CPU fan doesn't sin, and on screen it says "CPU fan error".
When i turned it off i can already feel the heat from the cpu. my specs for this test are...
p8z68-vpro/gen3
16gb gskill ripjawsz(4x4) 1600mhz
intel core i7 2600k
xfx pro 850w
and the cpu cooler is the stock cpu cooler.
please help, as this is my first build and i want to put it in the case

More about : cpu fan spinning

February 22, 2012 4:46:54 PM

yes, i read the motherboard booklet, and near the socket it says CPU Cooler, and the little piece of plastic that comes over the top of the 4 pins, goes in exactly in between the two plastic lines on the cpu's connector.

btw i already tried to turn the mobo on to reasure i plugged it correctly, and a second time i unplugged the cpu fan/heatsink and unatached the heatsink, (because when i tried to spin the fan myself it seemed stuck) and it still feels rough, and when i plug just the fan to the motherboard it still doesnt spin, and on the TV it still says theres a fail.

EDIT: and i think im goinna have to buy another thermal paste, since if i just apply the heatsink just to the old thermal paste, theres going to be air. so im guessing im going to have to wait... great i was so excited...
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
a b à CPUs
February 22, 2012 4:54:48 PM

If you haven't used the computer much, the paste may not have baked on yet. Probably safe to use in a limited capacity for now, just don't overdo it and keep an eye on your temps. I would definitely recommend putting new paste on as soon as you can.