Sign in with
Your question

Whats GPU BURN-IN?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 24, 2011 12:52:13 AM

Hi,

Sorry, bit of a noob here.
Got my first nvidia card yesterday (ASUS Direct CU II GTX 570)
Use to use CCC Panel for my ATI i had before so did none of this stuff...

In msi kombuster theres an option for gpu-burn in.. may i ask what does it do?

Many thanks.

More about : whats gpu burn

a b U Graphics card
December 24, 2011 1:11:26 AM

GPU burn in is a method of testing how long a GPU(or a CPU) can handle maximum stress.

It's usually used to find out if your overclocking parameters are stable under maximum conditions for a long time.

If you don't overclock, don't worry about it.
a b U Graphics card
December 24, 2011 1:53:38 AM

Yep. It's not like you're wearing it in; it's not something that you have to do. It's just a test.
Related resources
a c 175 U Graphics card
December 24, 2011 3:12:17 AM

It's to test whether your card can 'survive' from worst case or maximum stress. It's usually used when overclocking and you don't need to do it if you don't want
December 24, 2011 3:28:32 AM

Eh, excuse me someone? :)  Basically i overclocked a bit...
Stock=

----Overclock To------

Did the gpu burn.. normal is fine, but then i put it to the xtreme gpu burn in and my screen goes black? -_- Monitor says going to sleep and nothing i do brings it back alive even though everything seems to be working fine pc wise.(Have to end up turning PC on then off)

The fan is on Auto.
Should i maybe set it to like 65% or something then do the test again?

Cuz the fan doesnt even pass 25% when on Crysis2:

1600x900
DX 11
High Res Texture
Ultra
averaging 75fps + (Max 135fps)
December 24, 2011 3:33:08 AM

Edit:/

The numbers go: Core
Shader
Memory

The normal gpu burn i ran for 30mins with no problems what so ever...
The xtreme screen goes black after about couple mins or less.
a c 225 U Graphics card
December 24, 2011 3:41:06 AM

Two reasons to do a "burn in"