Sign in with
Your question

Newly Built computer running slow

Last response: in Systems
February 22, 2012 5:18:42 PM

I just completed my first pc build, and the computer powered right up. All the components seemed to be working correctly. So i installed a (non-retail) copy of windows 7. The install took a long time and when it booted for the first time it was really slow. Applications that i opened constantly lagged and sometimes became non responsive. Thinking it was a driver issue, I installed the driver cd's that came with the motherboard and graphics card. The computer is still slow.

Is the slowness caused by the non-retail windows 7 or by outdated drivers? Im still fairly new to computers, so all the help i can get is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

PC SPECS
BIOSTAR A880G+
ATHLON X4 BLACK EDITION
SAPPHIRE RADEON 6570
500W POWERSUPPLY
G-SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB RAM
WD BLACK CAVIAR 250G 3.0GB/S SATA HARD DRIVE
February 22, 2012 6:29:38 PM

- The slowness is most likely to be outdated drivers, (always get from company's website not on the CD)
- You could be not getting enough voltage into each hardware? your PSU looks to be a lower quality. 500w isn't good enough now a day's (my opinion)
- Do a virus scan? Maybe the "non-retail" copy came with one! :]
(http://www.eset.com/us/online-scanner/)
m
l
February 22, 2012 6:44:51 PM

saxal said:
I just completed my first pc build, and the computer powered right up. All the components seemed to be working correctly. So i installed a (non-retail) copy of windows 7. The install took a long time and when it booted for the first time it was really slow. Applications that i opened constantly lagged and sometimes became non responsive. Thinking it was a driver issue, I installed the driver cd's that came with the motherboard and graphics card. The computer is still slow.