Sign in with
Your question

New System Runs Extremely Slow - Help

Last response: in Systems
February 22, 2012 5:23:04 PM

I just completed my first pc build, and the computer powered right up. All the components seemed to be working correctly. So i installed a (non-retail) copy of windows 7. The install took a long time and when it booted for the first time it was really slow. Applications that i opened constantly lagged and sometimes became non responsive. Thinking it was a driver issue, I installed the driver cd's that came with the motherboard and graphics card. The computer is still slow.

Is the slowness caused by the non-retail windows 7 or by outdated drivers? Im still fairly new to computers, so all the help i can get is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

PC SPECS
BIOSTAR A880G+
ATHLON X4 BLACK EDITION
SAPPHIRE RADEON 6570
500W POWERSUPPLY
G-SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB RAM
WD BLACK CAVIAR 250G 3.0GB/S SATA HARD DRIVE
February 22, 2012 5:51:51 PM

in your BIOS do you have your hdd set to AHCI?
m
l
February 22, 2012 5:56:00 PM

Im not sure, i havent had anytime to truly configure the bios. Im at school right now so i cant check. However, I used the same non-retail windows 7 on my laptop and it runs great. Ill check my hdd when i get home Thanks
m
l
Related resources
February 22, 2012 6:37:30 PM

check your HDD ide mode and ram timings (needs to match what's written on the sticks)
m
l
February 22, 2012 6:41:50 PM

what if the hdd and ram timings are different? I cant check now since im at school
m
l
February 22, 2012 6:53:26 PM

AntiZig said:
check your HDD ide mode and ram timings (needs to match what's written on the sticks)

i just checked the ram compatability with my motherboard manual and it saws that it supports RIPJAW " F3-10666CL8D-4GBECO" but mine is a RIPJAW " F3-10666CL9D-8GBXL" Do you think that the ram isnt fully compatible?
m
l
February 22, 2012 7:55:57 PM