Dec 31, 2011
Hello,
This is my first time building a new computer
from scratch and need some advice.

First: Here is what I have to work with:

Motherboard: GA-X79-UD5
CPU: Intel i7-3820
Cooling: Corsair H100 twin fan water
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 4096MBx4 (16GB)
Boot Drives: (2 for RAID 0) Plextor M3 SATA 6Gb/s 128MB SSDs
Video: evga Geforce 560 TI Superclock
PowerSupply: Radmax RX-850 AE 80Plus Gold
DVD Drive: Asus from Newegg
Case: CoolerMaster 932 HAF Full Tower Advanced

Second: What I am concerned about is where exactly what
slots I should put the memory in.
Third: How to Set up the BOOT drive using the two
Plextor SSDs.

I am a little lost looking at the Gigabyte GA-X79-UD5
user's manual. Should the memory go in slots 4,2,1 and 3? It
is 4 channel Memory.
Setting up the SSDs in RAID 0 is what I am really lost
on. Here are the steps I plan on:

1: Plug the SSD drives on SATA3 0 and SATA3 1
Intel X79 Cont

g-unit1111

Titan
Second: What I am concerned about is where exactly what
slots I should put the memory in.

On a standard dual channel build you use slots 1 and 3, and then put your second set of memory in slots 2 and 4.

All the pairs have to be matched, I'm sure on a quad channel setup it's no different - what you would do is put your RAM in slots 1 and 3 on one side, then put the other two in slots 1 and 3 on the other side.

Third: How to Set up the BOOT drive using the two
Plextor SSDs

First off it's pretty pointless to RAID SSDs. You're not going to get any increased space, nor will you see a dramatic performance increase from the drives. Just plug your boot drive into SATA-0 and then plug your second HD into SATA-1, then your optical into SATA-3. Once your system POSTs, load the BIOS and set the boot order as 1. CD-ROM (for Windows install), 2. SSD 1, 3. USB

I'm not sure if the UD5 is different from the Z68 board I'm using but on the Gigabyte BIOS you have to order your drives so the SATA-0 drive is the boot drive.

g-unit1111