Sign in with
Your question
Closed

AMD fx4100 w/MSI mobo

Last response: in Systems
February 23, 2012 4:28:43 AM

I'm new to the whole PC building and I was wondering if the following would work...
AMD FX 4100 3.6ghz (3.8ghz turbo)
MSI 990FXA-GD80
(2x2GB) 4GB Corsair Vengence RAM
Corsair TX650w
1x WD 1.5TB black caviar 6.0gb/s 7200rpm
LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
MSI N560GTX-Ti Hawk GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
COOLER MASTER HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
1x 200mm (red LED) COOLERMASTER fan

I have yet to build it and open it because my friend said i should ask you guys before opening anything

More about : amd fx4100 msi mobo

February 23, 2012 4:42:28 AM

The fx series seems to have alot of problems and honestly nothing beats and i5 2500k for gaming and normal computing. Its definitly worth it to spend the money. If not get the i3.

The board your looking at isnt the greatest brand to be honest, not bad but you could do better especially for $195. I recommend a Asus or gigabyte, Asus more. Just go with the 68 series boards and you will be good.

The ram is fine aslong as its low profile, without the tall heatsinks. The tall ram doesnt fit with the hyper 212. Reccomended for gaming is 8gb. Ram is cheap enough now that you might aswell get as much as you can. Its always better to get 2 high GB then 4 lower. So get 2x4gb if you can.

560 is a great card, especially if you plan to sli them later. 570 is a better bang for the buck but it all depends on your budget.

Other than that everything looks great.
Score
February 23, 2012 4:43:16 AM

If you intend on gaming on this, do yourself a favour and get something from Intel. Even the $60 G620 matches the FX4100 at stock. Get a $180 i5 2400 + $120 Z68 board for the money.

The rest looks good.
Score
Related resources

Best solution