Solved

Amateur Gaming Build

Hi everyone

I'm new to TomsHardware and have been browsing for a while researching for a gaming PC build of my own.

My knowledge on these matters is mediocre at best, I've built some PC's but haven't kept up to date recently.

Please can you look over my First draft below and give me any comments on components you think may not work, are unnecessary in price or performance, or are out of my scope in terms of their gadgets that I wont be able to take proper advantage of. Thanks!!

CPU: i5 2500K - which I will overclock a little, but nothing out of a noobs control.

MB: Either the ASUS P8P67 Pro
OR ASUS P8Z68-V

With the motherboard I'd like to be able to SLI in a couple years time, apart from that I dont mind about SSD and the other bells and whistles that I will never use. I can't seem to decide between 67 and 68... please help!

GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti FPB - This seems to be the entry level 'good' card.

RAM: Corsair 8GB (2x4) 1600 with heatsink - I know GSkill (is that the correct name?) is more popular, but my country doesn't import that brand. I have Kingston or Corsair only.

PSU: Corsair TX 750W (Sli Ready)

Cooler/Heatsink: I have one chosen, mid range.

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb. 32mb cache SATA 6.

** I will be buying ALL components new, Screen and mouse etc. but I need some advice on the compatibility of the core components above, I'd hate to order them and have some issues...
South Africa imports a lot of these components so they are a little expensive for us, adding close to 50% on to the price of a 'Mid range gaming PC'.

I've found the most difficult task in finding a suitable Motherboard and Memory thats compatible with the Board and CPU. Overall I'd like to get the best value, and leave space for future upgrades, like more RAM and GPU.

The PC will be used for gaming primarily, and very little media work, apart from HD movies...

I appreciate any response to this very long introduction!!!

Lance