Please help on upgrading the card

dontbugme

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2011
Hello all!

I was researching and cant decide really, as Im not an expert in hardware.

I currently have this system set up:

ACER Aspire M5641 Tower (I guess its mini tower?)

Board: ACER MCP73PV NVIDIA MCP73

Card : ATI Radeon HD 4850 512 MB

400 Watt power supply

Monitor : 19 inch 1280x1024

The card is great, but lately too noisy, thats why Id want to replace it. I read that Geforce cards are more quiet, but will a geforce card fit in my system? (I think the latest are all 2-slot cards?)

The question is whats the best card out there for my system to upgrade? I think not every card will fit into this tower, right?

thanks

Your tower looks to have the space for a 2 slot card, you can always look it still just takes on plug on the board, just the larger heatsink hangs down and it takes 2 screw locations.

An example of a dual card on mATX board(small board like those used in many acer systems)
dualslotcard.jpg

Most single slot cards are louder. For instance a 4870 was not that loud of a card since it has a better cooler.

To be honest, i recommend cleaning the heatsink on your card with an air duster as a 4850 should not be THAT loud. As a card gets too much dust build up, it gets louder trying to cool it self.

If you plan to get a card, take note of the length of your case as well as the 12 volt current on your power supply. If you lack the power, a new card could make the system unstable.

Something like a 5770 or 6770 even a from ATI will take less power and thus work with your system. a 6850 should work as well
On the nvidia end. gtx 550ti or GTX 460. If you have a card you wonder about, just ask.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/fastest-graphics-card-radeon-geforce,3085-7.html

This list will show you where each card falls on the list and you want to upgrade when you are moving up at least two levels , otherwise you might not notice much of a performance increase.