porshe_carrera

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
hey im new to building, looking at building a new gaming rig but i cant decide on which cpu is best for me.
its gonna be for all the newest games and ill also use it for a fair bit of design and rendering with programs like archiCAD and autoCADD. i also plan to try and have her permanently stable at 4.5 or higher if possible. current build idea specs are:

CPU:
MOBO:asrock Z77 extreme 4
RAM: 8gb G.SKILL Ripjaws 1600mhz
GPU: gainward gtx570 glh
PSU: Cooler Master 650W GX Series
OPTICAL DRIVE:LG blue ray read/write
HDD:2TB WD caviar green
SSD: -
CPU COOLER:Antec Kuhler h20 620
CASE: bitfenix colossus

so can u guys help me figure out if the i7 is worth it or if i should go i5 and instead get the next cooler up

If you are doing rendering, then the i7 is a worthwhile purchase.

On another note, stay away from Cooler Master PSUs. They are bad all around. Stick to Corsair, Antec, Seasonic, xfx.

One more note about the green HDD. Only get that if you do in fact get an SSD. If you aren't getting an SSD right now, bet a blue or black drive. You'll be horribly disappointed in the green drive's performance if you try to use it as your main drive.

InvalidError

Titan

WD Green would be 5400RPM, which is a curious choice in a system intended for performance rather than power-efficiency.

Well, once all programs and data are loaded in RAM, HDD does not matter as much anymore. That is how I roll... but not sure I would take it down to 5400RPM, at least not without SSD for SRT/Readyboost/Superfetch.

porshe_carrera

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
are corsairs really that bad? cause im trying to keep it budget and they have the best power/cost ratio, also the one iv got now lasted years just fine so not sure if thats a problem.

the HDD is a swap over, just keeping it to save cost and store all my stuff.
does running everything off an SSD really improve the apps performance that much?