Monitoring Temp, Output, Overclocking

nfarnham2001

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Hello,

I own an HP a6203w Desktop, with 4 gigs of ram, a Thermaltake TR2 430W PSU, and an ATI Radeon 5450 1Gig graphics card. The card is fanless and operates off of the PCI slots power. I am curious as to what free software/apps I can get for my computer/desktop that I can use to watch/monitor the temperature of the card, output of it, and possible what I need to know about the catalyst control center, I'm completely new to this and this is my first video card setup.

Can I overclock it at all?
Also, how about monitor for CPU temp?
Any other key components of my PC that I should have a monitoring system for temperature and output setup?
If so where to download?

Thanks for all the help.

nfarnham2001

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Okay, what is the ideal temp for all of my stuff to be at, Cpu, gpu etc, also i have an open spot at the back bottom of my pc for what looks to be a large fan (it is a large mesh covering with screw holes and nothing there. idk much about fans, would it just be pulling hot air out of case? Only other fan I have is CPU fan. It is a quiet system.

DM186

Splendid
Your temps should at idle should be around 30c to 35c for GPU and CPU. Now depending on the size of your case you should have one fan blowing out hot air and a fan putting in cold.

I have 7 case fan's to run in my rig 3 of them to exspell hot air out and 4 to bring cold air in. My Temps on cpu and gpu run idle at 25c but I also have water cooling for my CPU. When I game My GPU Temps get up to 60c to 70c My CPU gets 50c to 60c max.

I would be thinking about getting a expanston fan that plugs in to a slot like your card is now and it will just blow on your card or up grade your card to something better. And if you want to do that we can adress that later.

nfarnham2001

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010