Sign in with
Your question

First time home build - Looking for experienced feedback

Last response: in Systems
February 25, 2012 7:33:53 PM

I'm a total noob that's about to venture into my first attempt at a custom build and I would appreciate if some of you more experienced folks would look over my proposed system and let me know if there might be any glaring problems that might arise with the components I've selected. My choices reflect my intentions of building in plenty of headroom for future functionality & expansion. Such as, I may not be into intensive gaming at the moment but could possibly be venturing into that area (with the addition of a good GPU, of course).

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3 GHz Quad-Core
MoBo: Intel BOXDZ68BC Z68
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600
SSD: Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST10000DM003 1TB 7200RPM SATA
Optic drive: LG Black 12x Super Multi Blue Blueray/DVD/CD
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W Fully-Modular
Case: NZCT Tempest 410
February 25, 2012 7:36:16 PM

That looks like a pretty good system, from my point of view, But I would suggest a graphics card, as onboard graphics usually are limited in features, and not the best quality
m
l
February 25, 2012 7:36:41 PM

OP, what is your budget?
m
l
Related resources
February 25, 2012 7:56:37 PM

Yes, I realize the the onboard graphics will be a limiting factor at the moment, but I'm already pushing the top end of my budget with this build and a graphics card can easily be added at a future date. My main concern is more along the lines of compatibility and connectivity, with the ability to expand and adapt in the future. Thanx for the feedback.
m
l
February 25, 2012 8:03:06 PM

azeem40 said:
OP, what is your budget?