Radeon HD 6850 Freezing

mparnelly

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011
Hey Community,

so i`m having a major issue currently with my BRAND New build. this is my first build, and heres the specs

AMD Radeon HD 6850
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
16 Gb Ram
Bulldozer 6100 3.3 Ghz
Windows 7 Pro, SP1 (64 Bit)
Antec Earthwatts 750W

Anyways heres my issue, my GPU is freezing constantly, everytime i try and do anything from open chrome, to clicking the start button. It will freeze then say "Display Driver stopped responding and has recovered." This happens ALL the time, i can't even use the PC.

Heres what i've tried so far, Fresh install of Windows, updating to SP1, Loading 11.11 Drivers, Loading 11.12 Drivers, changing the GPU from the PCIE4 to the PCIE16 slot on the MB.

I can't think of anything else, I'm in desperate need and have been trying to figure this out for over a week now...

mparnelly

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011
So heres the list of display drivers i've tried from AMD.

Any other ideas? It seems to ahve started doign this after i did all my updates to windows? I'm not even sure anymore.. maybe its a faulty GPU? Maybe i have the incorrect voltages setup? anything?

mparnelly

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011
Okay, so i ran CC Cleaner i had a few Registry errors, also had about 500 mb of crap under the applications section.. Just installed 11.12 again to see if maybe the reg fixes helped the situation... If this doesn't work i'll uninstall the Driver, and download a 10.x version..

Wish me luck, god i hope its not the GPU itself.

mparnelly

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011
I am downloading 10.6 right now, i'm really hoping i can get this settled tonight.

Why would the new drivers be causing an issue on my PC though? I don't understand the logic behind that it seems kind of weird to me?

mparnelly

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011