Sign in with
Your question

Serious help needed!!!!!!!

Last response: in Systems
February 26, 2012 6:29:48 PM

Hows it goin folks, Before i begin you should know i am a complete noob and this is my first build. I checked the compability of my components before i bought them so that shouldnt be a problem.

Rig Details

MOBO- Asus P8p67 rev3.1 B3 revision.
CPU- i5 2500k with stock cooler
RAM- Patriot g2 series 2x4gb PC3-12800 1600MHz
PSU- XFX xxx edition 650w
HDD- Segate 320gb 5400(old one)
GPU- ATI Radeon 800
Cd/Dvd- Liteon

So I finally put the rig together and Switched it on for the first time. Everything seem to be going fine. The mobo Led came on, the power Led lit up, all the case fans and cpu fans turned without any bother, the gpu also started. 3 seconds later everything shutdown completely then started back up as normal.

At both startups I never got any image on my monitor. The screen told me there was no signal recieved. Thinkin there was something wrong with the GPU i borrowed a working one from a friend (saphire vapor-x hd4870 2g GDDR5). When i installed the new gpu a red light indicating over temp protection came on. I was using two 6pin pci-e cables to power the gpu.

After trying the second gpu and not succeeding I unplugged all the cables, removed the cpu cleaned off the termal paste and replaced it. Bought Integral 2gb DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz ram and installed that. I meticulously followed the installation guide. The outcomes were the same, Machine powers up 3sec later shuts down powers up again and still no image on screen.

Is there a problem with compatibility?
Is my mobo or psu not working correctly? If so how can i test them?
Should i just return the components and get a new set.

Any help will be great.

I am sick of lookin at my collection of components lying there useless.

More about : needed

February 26, 2012 11:52:58 PM

I am not a big fan of Patriot RAM and an even bigger non fan of 1600+ RAM and a yet larger non fan of off brand RAM.