Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading a 5770. $500 budget, want to max out games...

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 28, 2011 2:06:21 AM

I've been researching for about 2 months for a new GPU and I am at a loss for what to do, so I'm seeking out the help of this awesome community. For starters, here are my current specs:

Intel Core i5-2500k (OC to 4.4GHz)
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 Mobo
Rosewill 650W PSU (single 12v rail)
Radeon HD 5770
2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 in RAID 0
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM

My new GPU (or perhaps multi) budget is preferably $400-500, but I'm a little flexible if the choice is the right one. My choices are pretty much these:

NVidia: GTX 560 Ti (x2), 560 Ti 448 Cores (x2?), 570, 580
AMD: Radeon HD 6970, 6950 (x2)

Basically, I want to be able to play any current title (Metro 2033, Skyrim, Crysis 2, etc) on max or at least the highest details with slight AF/AA, but the AF/AA is not very important to me. 4X usually looks great IMO. My concerns are massive, and are what's inspiring this post, so here are my concerns and the questions regarding them:

1. Is my PSU going to be able to handle all of these configurations?
2. Microstutter. How big of a deal is it, and is it worth buying a 580 over two 560 Ti's for $100 more even though the 580 is outperformed?
3. My mobo only has 2 slots, otherwise a 3-way SLI/CF would be considered to rid of microstutter. Am I pretty much screwed?
4. Would it be worth it to wait until the new series of cards is released? I'd like to buy within a month or two, but haven't found much info as to when the new cards will be out.
5. I'd like to "future-proof" this as much as possible, so while a GTX 580 recommendation is expected from someone, paying another $500 for a second one in the future makes it less attractive.
6. VRAM, I've heard everything from "you need as much as possible" to "most games don't even utilize over 1GB". What's the truth, and does more help?